Skip to content


Board of Directors

Board of Directors meets bi-monthly at Akakū Maui Community Media Suite 205,  in the conference room. To be notified about the dates and times, subscribe to our mailing list.

  • Jay April, CEO/President

  • Gene Zarro, Board Chair

  • Mark Hyman, Vice Chair

  • Mark Tracy, Treasurer

  • Sylvia Ho, Secretary

  • DeGray Vanderbilt

  • Michael Duberstein

  • Morris Haole Jr.

  • William Snipes

The next Board Of Directors meeting will be held virtually Wednesday, June 23rd at 5:30 PM

Contact the front desk at 871-5554 for more information.

Aloha Friends of Akaku,

It is with a heavy heart that I have to announce the passing of a great friend, mentor and colleague, Mark Tracy. I can truly say that not only was he a passionate supporter of our mission to empower people’s voices, he was an astute and successful businessman and terrific with money and numbers. His contribution to Akaku as treasurer was invaluable. But Mark was so much more. 

He always gave sound advice. He always asked the right questions and looked for answers that made sense. He listened. When he spoke, had something worthwhile to say. He did not suffer fools lightly. He had a real knack for detail and excelled in pretty much everything he did. He was a good, gracious and generous man.

He loved Public Access and was a big fan of Democracy Now. He was also a great human being with a great sense of humor and a positive take on life. The health and well being of our non-profit was a responsibility he took seriously. He always showed up. I learned a lot from him and will miss him dearly. If Akaku had a Parthenon, he would be in it.

In Loving Memory,
The Akakū Ohana